The Art of Cursive

I remember back in my younger years, when it was that dreadful time of the day where the teacher would tell all students to bring out their writing books. It wasn’t just any normal writing book, it was a cursive writing book. We would spend about an hour rewriting the alphabet five times over. Rewriting the words, “car”, “here”, “there”, “thought.” Watching how the words just got bigger as we went further down the book; our small minds thinking it was just impossible to write out the word “throwing” in cursive.

Second grade was when I started to learn how to write cursive. I can remember the teachers harking over us saying that we would be writing cursive for the rest of our lives. The older we got the more teachers would require cursive in every paper we would ever write. They would repeat over and over again, that in high school it would be a MAJOR requirement. So much so, that if the teachers even saw print on our papers, we would be docked points.

Today, cursive isn’t even taught in schools anymore. That day my little brother came home stating that schools were stopping the learning of cursive just enraged me. Partly because I had to go through the awful times of learning how to write it and partly because it was something I believed should be taught. Cursive is now an art form. Only a select few of people know how to write it.

It’s sad because, many people don’t know how to read cursive. Cursive is the same as print, it’s just slurred and connected, much like slurred music notes. It’s the same note, only connected to each other. Same letters, only connected to each other. Future generations won’t have a signature, because no one taught them how to write one. When they see cursive, they’ll think it’ll be some different language, when in reality it’s their own.

Cursive is now an art form. As an English major and a writer, it’s sad to see this is happening to such a beautiful form of writing.

4 thoughts on “The Art of Cursive

  1. Script Keeper Undead says:

    I’ve been hearing about people say that their kids are getting in trouble for writing in cursive. Everyone who’s seen me write knows I need to practice mine. I don’t thinks it something that should be dismissed as people still use it or trying to read something written in cursive is still relevant. Nice Posttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. It saddens me as well. It’s amazing how so much can change within a generation; ten years, and cursive went from mandatory to almost frowned upon. I also really like your analogy between writing and music, with kind of print being staccato and cursive being legato. 🙂

    Like

  3. I remember learning cursive in second grade. It was so fun! My younger sister is in high school now and was never given a formal lesson on cursive. I think it’s crazy that it isn’t taught anymore. I guess educators think that as long as kids can sign their names on check, that’s all the cursive they need to know.

    Like

Leave a comment